Know what is in the bank next month: 10 AI skills for the money side
funding-options
what a small venue can really borrow, and what it truly costs
How the two work together
Claude thinks it through. Paste the Claude prompt into Claude Code, or drop the folder into your skills folder. Claude does the judgement: what to look for, what is worth doing, what is right.
Codex gets it done. At the hand-off point Claude runs Codex on your machine with one command and passes it the Codex prompt. Codex does the mechanical part and hands the result back. Claude checks it before you see it.
No API key to set up: Claude calls the Codex you already have installed. If Codex is not installed, Claude does that half itself and tells you.
Prompt for Claude
---
name: funding-options
description: Works out which borrowing a small venue can realistically reach, converts every offer into the same three comparable numbers, establishes from the legislation whether the agreement is regulated or not, and records the complaint route before anything is signed. Use before approaching a lender, when a broker sends a quote you cannot compare, or after a bank turns you down.
---
# What you can actually borrow, what it truly costs, and who you can complain to afterwards
You give this your legal form, how much you want and what for, the offers or indicative quotes you have been sent, and the security anyone has asked for. You get back the regulated or unregulated status of each agreement taken from the legislation, every offer reduced to total repayable, cost in pounds and the calendar, the security and personal guarantee written down separately from the rate, the complaint route with its eligibility test and time limits, and a numbered list of what is missing. It does not recommend a product, tell you which offer to take, or say whether you can afford it.
## What it does
1. **Establish your legal form first, because it decides whether consumer credit protection can reach you at all.** Under article 60B of the Regulated Activities Order, a credit agreement means an agreement "between an individual or relevant recipient of credit ('A') and any other person ('B') under which B provides A with credit of any amount". Article 60L defines "relevant recipient of credit" as "a partnership consisting of two or three persons not all of whom are bodies corporate, or an unincorporated body of persons which does not consist entirely of bodies corporate and is not a partnership". A limited company is a body corporate and is neither an individual nor a relevant recipient, so borrowing by the company is outside that regime entirely. Write the form at the top of the file. It changes the answer to every later question.
2. **Then take the amount, because £25,000 is the line the legislation draws.** Article 60C(3) provides that a credit agreement is exempt where "the lender provides the borrower with credit exceeding £25,000" and "the agreement is entered into by the borrower wholly or predominantly for the purposes of a business carried on, or intended to be carried on, by the borrower". So a sole trader borrowing more than £25,000 for the business is on an exempt agreement, and a sole trader borrowing £25,000 or less for the business is not exempt by that route. Article 60C(5) adds that a business purpose declaration in the agreement creates a presumption of business purpose, unless under 60C(6) the lender "knows or has reasonable cause to suspect" otherwise. Record which paragraph applies to each offer and the figure that triggered it.
3. **List the products that actually exist for a venue, and what each is for, before looking at any rate.** The British Business Bank's guide sets out the realistic set. Overdrafts and revolving credit: interest charged "only on the amount by which you're overdrawn", flexible and quick, but they "generally have higher interest rates than loans", and for revolving credit "you may need to give a personal guarantee". Invoice finance, only useful if you invoice businesses, with factoring advancing "up to 90% of the value of an invoice", and providers may decline where customers take more than ninety days. Working capital loans, secured against assets or unsecured with a personal guarantee. Asset finance and asset refinance for equipment and vehicles. Merchant cash advance, repaid from card takings. Grants. A Community Development Finance Institution.
4. **Reduce every offer to the same three numbers, in writing, and refuse to compare anything else.** Total amount repayable. Cost in pounds, which is total repayable minus the amount advanced. The calendar, meaning the date each payment leaves and the date the last one does. Only these three are comparable across products. An annual percentage rate and a factor rate are not the same measurement and cannot be set beside each other: a factor rate of 1.3 on £20,000 says you repay £26,000, but it says nothing about when, and repaying that over six months is roughly twice as expensive per month as repaying it over twelve. The same trap sits inside fees quoted per period. The guide gives purchase order finance "a monthly fee of between 1.8% and 6%" and Buy Now Pay Later merchant fees "usually between 2% and 8% of the total amount", both of which are period figures and neither of which is an annual rate.
5. **Write security and personal guarantees down separately from the cost, because they are a different kind of decision.** A rate is money. A personal guarantee is your house. The guide says plainly of unsecured working capital loans that "you'll likely have to give a personal guarantee and will need a good credit rating", and of asset finance that "the lender may seize the asset you've put up as security and sell it if you fail to make payments". Record, per offer: what is charged, who signs, whether a spouse or partner is asked to sign, whether the guarantee is capped and at what figure, and whether it survives the loan being sold to another lender. An uncapped guarantee with no figure against it is a gap, and the skill lists it as one rather than pricing it.
6. **Record the complaint route before you sign, not after something goes wrong.** The Financial Ombudsman Service can help "micro-enterprises and small businesses (including self-employed people, partnerships and limited companies)". A micro-enterprise is a business that "employs fewer than 10 people" and "has annual turnover or a balance sheet that does not exceed €2 million". A small business is one that is not a micro-enterprise, "has an annual turnover of less than £6.5 million" and "has a balance sheet total of less than £5 million, or employs fewer than 50 people". Small businesses can complain "only about an act or omission by the financial business which occurred on or after 1 April 2019". The service can also help "individuals who act as personal guarantors for loans to businesses they're involved in", which matters directly given step 5.
7. **Put the time limits in the file as dates, because they are short and they are missed.** The Financial Ombudsman requires a complaint to be made to the business within "6 years of your problem happening" or "3 years of becoming aware that you had cause to complain", or three years of when it would be reasonable to expect you to have realised. Then: "You have 6 months from the date on the final response you receive from the financial business to bring your complaint to us." Six months from a letter is the one that catches people, because the letter arrives during an argument and the deadline runs while the argument continues. Write the final response date and the six month date side by side the day the letter arrives.
8. **Say honestly what has no route, rather than implying everything is covered.** Not every business lender is FCA authorised and not every agreement is a regulated one, and an unregulated agreement to a limited company sits outside the consumer credit regime described in steps 1 and 2. The position of the Business Banking Resolution Service could not be verified for this skill because its website would not load when checked on 16 September 2026, so it is recorded as unverified and must be checked on its own site before any owner relies on it. Where an offer comes from a provider you cannot find on the Financial Services Register, that is a finding to record, not a reason to stop, and it belongs in front of the owner's accountant before signature.
9. **If you have been turned down, work the list rather than the feeling, and get the pack ready.** The guide names the usual reasons: "a low credit rating", "Insufficient security for the loan", "a weak business plan and financial forecasts including cashflow", and "low risk appetite from the lender in terms of the particular sector your business operates in". It notes a rejection from one bank does not predict another. Under the Bank Referral Scheme, designated banks must refer a declined small business to designated finance platforms, and HM Treasury's May 2026 response records that "roughly 5% of referred SMEs go on to obtain alternative finance successfully" and that the government "intends to leave the BRS legislative regime stable". Community Development Finance Institutions "typically lend amounts ranging from £25,000 to £250,000". The pack is a business plan, a cash flow forecast, current financials and your credit rating, which runs "from 0 to 100".
## Then it checks
1. The legal form is stated and the article that applies to it is named, and no offer is described as regulated or unregulated without the paragraph of article 60B, 60C or 60L that decides it.
2. Every offer carries all three comparable numbers, computed from the offer document, and no offer is compared on a rate alone or on a headline percentage of any kind.
3. No annual percentage rate is stated anywhere unless it appears on a document the owner supplied, and no factor rate or period fee has been converted into an annual figure.
4. Security and personal guarantees are recorded per offer with who signs, whether there is a cap and its figure, and any uncapped or unstated guarantee is listed as a gap rather than assessed.
5. The Financial Ombudsman eligibility test is applied to this business with each of the three size figures answered, and the 1 April 2019 limit and both time limits are written as dates rather than as periods.
6. Every product description and every published figure quotes its source and the date it was read, and anything that could not be verified, including the Business Banking Resolution Service position, is listed as unverified rather than described.
Any check fails: name it, redo that step once. Failed twice: say what is wrong and stop.
## Rules
- Public information only.
- Never invent a fact, a number or a quote.
- Anything sent in someone's name says whose name it is. An enquiry or an appeal prepared here goes to the owner to send.
- Must refuse to recommend a product, rank the offers, or say which one to take. This is regulated financial advice, nobody here is authorised to give it, and the owner needs an accountant or an authorised adviser for that decision.
- Never state an interest rate, an annual percentage rate, a factor rate or a fee that has not been read on a document the owner supplied or on a named public source loaded on the day. There is no published typical rate for a small venue's borrowing, and quoting one makes an owner reject a fair offer or accept a poor one.
- Never convert a factor rate or a periodic fee into an annual percentage rate. Without the full repayment schedule the conversion is invented, and an invented comparison is worse than no comparison.
- Never tell an owner they will be approved, that they can afford a repayment, or that a guarantee is safe because the business is doing well. Record the numbers and the obligations.
- Never apply for anything, submit anything to a lender or broker, share the owner's figures with a third party, or enter details into a comparison site.
- Never treat a broker's indicative quote as an offer. Record it as indicative with the date, and note that the terms on the signed agreement are the only terms that exist.
- This output is a working document prepared for the owner's accountant, an authorised financial adviser or their solicitor to check before anything is signed. It records published rules and the owner's own offer documents. It is not financial advice, it is not a recommendation, and it does not say whether any borrowing is suitable or affordable.
## Built from
- The Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 (Regulated Activities) Order 2001, articles 60B, 60C and 60L, https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2001/544/article/60B, /60C and /60L, Chapter 14A inserted with effect from 1 April 2014 by S.I. 2013/1881, read 16 September 2026: the definition of a credit agreement and of a relevant recipient of credit in step 1, and the exceeding £25,000 business exemption with its declaration and knowledge provisions in step 2.
- British Business Bank, "Making business finance work for you: Expanded edition", https://www.british-business-bank.co.uk/sites/g/files/sovrnj166/files/2026-08/guide-making-business-finance-work-for-you-2026.pdf, no publication date shown in the document, read 16 September 2026: the product descriptions and their stated drawbacks in step 3, the purchase order finance and Buy Now Pay Later fee ranges in step 4, the personal guarantee and asset seizure warnings in step 5, and the rejection reasons, Bank Referral Scheme description, CDFI lending range and finance readiness pack in step 9.
- Financial Ombudsman Service, "Who we can help", https://sme.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/complain/can-help, no publication date shown on the page, read 16 September 2026: the micro-enterprise and small business definitions, the 1 April 2019 limit and the personal guarantor route in step 6.
- Financial Ombudsman Service, "Time limits", https://www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/consumers/expect/time-limits, no publication date shown on the page, read 16 September 2026: the six year and three year limits and the six months from a final response limit in step 7.
- HM Treasury, "Government response - Access to finance policy: commercial credit data sharing and bank referrals", https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/69fdaf582a6137e93226b89d/Government_Response_-_CCDS_BRS_Consultation.pdf, dated May 2026, read 16 September 2026: the roughly 5% conversion figure and the decision to leave the Bank Referral Scheme regime stable, in step 9.
Prompt for Codex
# funding-options ## You are given A folder for one UK hospitality business. It contains: the business's legal form, stated as sole trader, partnership with the number of partners and whether any is a body corporate, unincorporated body, or limited company, with its company number where one exists. The amount sought in pounds, what it is for, and when it is needed. One file per offer or indicative quote, each holding the provider's name, their Financial Services Register firm reference number where the owner has one, the product name as the provider calls it, the amount advanced, every payment with its date and amount or the schedule as supplied, all fees with the stage each falls due, any factor rate, periodic fee or annual percentage rate exactly as written, whether it is an offer or an indicative quote, and the date received. The security asked for on each, including any personal guarantee, who signs, whether it is capped and at what figure. The business's last full year turnover, balance sheet total and headcount. Any final response letter from a financial business with its date. And, already decided by Claude and supplied as text: the regulated or unregulated status of each offer with the article relied on, and which matters are being referred to the owner's accountant or adviser. ## Produce Write into a `./funding-options-output/` folder: 1. `regulatory-status.csv` with these columns in this order: `offer_ref`, `provider_name`, `borrower_legal_form`, `is_individual_or_relevant_recipient`, `amount_advanced_gbp`, `wholly_or_predominantly_business`, `business_purpose_declaration_present`, `status`, `article_relied_on`, `source_read_date`. `offer_ref` is F001 upward. `is_individual_or_relevant_recipient` is `yes`, `no` or `not established`. `status` is exactly one of `regulated credit agreement`, `exempt agreement`, `outside the regime, borrower is a body corporate`, `not established`. `article_relied_on` is non-empty for every row that is not `not established`. 2. `offer-comparison.csv` with columns: `offer_ref`, `provider_name`, `product_name_as_provider_calls_it`, `amount_advanced_gbp`, `number_of_payments`, `payment_amount_gbp`, `first_payment_date`, `final_payment_date`, `total_repayable_gbp`, `fees_included_gbp`, `cost_in_pounds_gbp`, `term_days`, `offer_or_indicative`, `date_received`, `schedule_complete`. `total_repayable_gbp` is the sum of every supplied payment plus every supplied fee, computed. `cost_in_pounds_gbp` is `total_repayable_gbp` minus `amount_advanced_gbp`, computed. `term_days` is the day count between first and final payment, computed. `schedule_complete` is `yes` or `no`, and every `no` row is listed in `gaps.md`. 3. `rates-as-quoted.csv` with columns: `offer_ref`, `figure_verbatim`, `figure_type`, `period_stated_verbatim`, `appears_on_document`, `comparable_with_an_apr`. `figure_type` is exactly one of `annual percentage rate`, `factor rate`, `periodic fee percentage`, `flat interest rate`, `not stated`. `comparable_with_an_apr` is `yes` only where `figure_type` is `annual percentage rate`, and `no` otherwise. No column in this file is ever computed, converted or annualised. 4. `security-and-guarantees.csv` with columns: `offer_ref`, `security_type`, `asset_or_property_named`, `personal_guarantee_required`, `who_signs`, `additional_signatory_asked`, `guarantee_capped`, `cap_amount_gbp`, `survives_assignment`, `recorded_from`. `personal_guarantee_required`, `guarantee_capped` and `survives_assignment` are `yes`, `no` or `not stated`. Every row where `personal_guarantee_required` is `yes` and `guarantee_capped` is `no` or `not stated` is listed in `gaps.md`. 5. `complaint-route.csv` with columns: `test`, `business_figure`, `threshold`, `test_met`. Rows exactly: `employs fewer than 10 people`, `turnover or balance sheet does not exceed EUR 2 million`, `annual turnover less than £6.5 million`, `balance sheet total less than £5 million`, `employs fewer than 50 people`. Add a final row `eligibility_conclusion` whose `test_met` is `micro-enterprise`, `small business`, `not eligible on the figures supplied` or `not established`. 6. `deadline-diary.csv` with columns: `event`, `event_date`, `limit_description_verbatim`, `deadline_date`, `days_remaining_from_run_date`. Include one row per final response letter supplied, with `deadline_date` computed as six months from the letter date, and one row recording the 1 April 2019 limit on small business complaints. 7. `unverified.md` - a numbered list of every claim, route or provider that could not be confirmed on the day, each with what was checked, the URL attempted, the date, and what the owner must do to confirm it. The Business Banking Resolution Service position is always an entry here unless a loaded source is supplied. 8. `gaps.md` - a numbered list of: every offer with an incomplete repayment schedule or no computable total repayable; every uncapped or unstated personal guarantee; every provider with no Financial Services Register reference; every indicative quote treated as an offer in the owner's notes; every eligibility test with no business figure; every final response letter with no date; and every figure supplied without the document it came from. ## Rules - Codex measures, records and checks. It never invents, never rewords the owner's copy, and never makes the judgement that was supplied to it. - Never recommend a product, rank the offers, mark one as best value, or sort any file by cost in a way that implies a ranking. Sort by `offer_ref`. - Never convert a factor rate, a monthly fee or a flat rate into an annual percentage rate, and never compute an implied rate of any kind. `rates-as-quoted.csv` records figures exactly as written and nothing else. - Never write an interest rate, an annual percentage rate or a fee that does not appear on a supplied document. No typical, market or indicative rate is to be written into any file. - Never state that a business will be approved, that a repayment is affordable, or that a guarantee is low risk. - Never fill a missing payment, fee, date or threshold figure with an assumption, a straight line schedule or a zero. Missing is `not stated` and goes to `gaps.md`, and where a schedule is incomplete the total repayable column is left empty rather than estimated. - Never apply for anything, contact a lender, broker or platform, submit the owner's figures anywhere, or query a comparison service. - Never record an indicative quote as an offer. `offer_or_indicative` carries the distinction on every row. - Every computed column must be reproducible from the other columns in its own row, and every legal status carries the article number and the date the legislation page was read. - Use British English, £ and DD Month YYYY dates. The Financial Ombudsman micro-enterprise threshold is stated in euro because the source states it in euro, and it is recorded as EUR 2 million rather than converted. No em dashes in any file you write, and any supplied text containing one is recorded verbatim and flagged in `gaps.md`. - Every file ends with this line: this is a working document prepared for the owner's accountant, an authorised financial adviser or their solicitor to check before anything is signed. It records supplied offer documents and published rules and is not financial advice, a recommendation, or a statement that any borrowing is suitable or affordable. ## Return The absolute path of each file written, the row count of each CSV, the number of offers by regulatory status with the article relied on for each, how many offers had a complete repayment schedule and how many did not, the amount advanced and the computed cost in pounds for each offer listed in `offer_ref` order with no ranking, the count of figures by `figure_type` and how many are comparable with an annual percentage rate, the number of offers requiring a personal guarantee and how many of those are uncapped or unstated, the eligibility conclusion from `complaint-route.csv` with the figures that produced it, every deadline date with days remaining, the `unverified.md` item count, and the `gaps.md` item count.
Built from the best public work on this
Sources for funding-options
Everything below was opened and read on 16 September 2026. Nothing is cited that could not be loaded. One thing the brief asked for could not be loaded and is recorded as such at the end of section 4.
1. The Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 (Regulated Activities) Order 2001, articles 60B, 60C and 60L
https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2001/544/article/60B, https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2001/544/article/60C and https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2001/544/article/60L. No publication date is shown on the pages; each records that Chapter 14A was inserted with effect from 26 July 2013 for specified purposes and 1 April 2014 otherwise, by S.I. 2013/1881. Read 16 September 2026.
These three articles answer, in about two hundred words of statute, the question every business borrower asks in a vague way and almost nobody answers precisely: am I protected here.
Article 60B(3) defines the subject matter: a credit agreement is "an agreement between an individual or relevant recipient of credit ('A') and any other person ('B') under which B provides A with credit of any amount". Article 60L defines "relevant recipient of credit" as "(a) a partnership consisting of two or three persons not all of whom are bodies corporate, or (b) an unincorporated body of persons which does not consist entirely of bodies corporate and is not a partnership". So a sole trader, a two or three partner partnership and a members' club can be inside the regime. A limited company cannot, being a body corporate and neither of the two. That is step 1, and because it determines whether the rest of the analysis is relevant at all, the skill puts it first and refuses to call an agreement regulated or unregulated without naming the article.
Article 60C(3) draws the money line: a credit agreement is exempt where "(a) the lender provides the borrower with credit exceeding £25,000, and (b) the agreement is entered into by the borrower wholly or predominantly for the purposes of a business carried on, or intended to be carried on, by the borrower". The word to notice is "exceeding": at or below £25,000 this exemption does not apply. Article 60C(5) creates a presumption where the agreement contains a business purpose declaration complying with FCA rules, and 60C(6) removes it where the lender or anyone acting for it "knows or has reasonable cause to suspect that the agreement is not entered into by the borrower wholly or predominantly for the purposes of a business".
Where the skill departs: the article also carries exemptions for green deal plans, Bounce Back Loan Scheme agreements and international trade credit, none of which reaches an ordinary venue borrowing in 2026. More importantly, the skill does not tell an owner what their protections are once status is established. Knowing whether the regime applies is worth having before a signature; what follows from it is a question for an adviser.
2. British Business Bank, "Making business finance work for you: Expanded edition"
https://www.british-business-bank.co.uk/sites/g/files/sovrnj166/files/2026-08/guide-making-business-finance-work-for-you-2026.pdf, no publication date shown in the document; the file is served from a path containing 2026-08. Nineteen pages. Read 16 September 2026.
This is the most useful public guide we found for a small business working out what exists, and it is used for descriptions and stated drawbacks, never for a recommendation. Its own disclaimer is worth repeating: it "does not constitute advice of any kind, including legal, financial, tax, or other professional advice".
Step 3 is built from its cash flow chapter, and what is striking is that every product description carries its own drawback. Overdrafts charge interest "only on the amount by which you're overdrawn" but "generally have higher interest rates than loans". Revolving credit is flexible, but "you may need to give a personal guarantee to access it". Invoice factoring advances "up to 90% of the value of an invoice", yet "If it takes more than 90 days for customers to pay invoices, providers may not approve your application". Unsecured working capital loans mean "you'll likely have to give a personal guarantee and will need a good credit rating". Asset finance is quick to arrange, but "the lender may seize the asset you've put up as security and sell it if you fail to make payments". A merchant cash advance needs no security, but "MCA fees and interest rates tend to be higher".
Two published figures are used in step 4, as examples of how costs get quoted rather than as rates. Purchase order finance: "providers typically charge a monthly fee of between 1.8% and 6%. The longer your customer takes to pay the invoice, the more fees you will pay." Buy Now Pay Later merchant fees are "usually between 2% and 8% of the total amount". Both are period or per-transaction figures, neither is an annual rate, and that is precisely the confusion the step exists to stop.
Step 9 comes from its chapter on rejection. The reasons listed are "a low credit rating", "Insufficient security for the loan", "a weak business plan and financial forecasts including cashflow" and "low risk appetite from the lender in terms of the particular sector your business operates in", with the reassurance that "a rejection from one bank does not necessarily mean that an application to another bank will also be rejected". It describes the Bank Referral Scheme and gives CDFI lending as "typically ... ranging from £25,000 to £250,000". Its finance readiness chapter supplies the pack: business plan, cash flow forecasts, business financials and the credit rating, ranging "from 0 to 100, where a score of 0 indicates high risk and a score of 100 indicates low risk", with the note that "lenders and investors often pay more attention to current financials than forecasts".
Where the skill departs: the guide covers equity, venture capital, mezzanine finance, exporting and research and development, none of which describes an independent venue. It also carries a figure of "£23.4 billion in late invoices ... owed to UK businesses", which the skill does not use, because a national aggregate tells a single owner nothing and the rule against benchmarks applies to impressive numbers as much as to unhelpful ones.
3. Financial Ombudsman Service, "Who we can help"
https://sme.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/complain/can-help, no publication date shown on the page, read 16 September 2026.
The eligibility test in step 6, quoted precisely because owners routinely assume they are too big or too small. The service "can help micro-enterprises and small businesses (including self-employed people, partnerships and limited companies)". A micro-enterprise "employs fewer than 10 people, and has annual turnover or a balance sheet that does not exceed €2 million". A small business "is not a micro-enterprise", "has an annual turnover of less than £6.5 million" and "has a balance sheet total of less than £5 million, or employs fewer than 50 people".
Two details shape the skill's handling. The micro-enterprise threshold is stated in euro, because the size definitions come from articles 3 to 6 of the Annex to Commission Recommendation 2003/361/EC, which the page cites, so the skill records EUR 2 million and forbids converting it: a conversion at today's rate is a figure the ombudsman does not use. And the page states that "the relevant point for determining the size of your business is when you complained to the financial business", not when the problem happened, which is why the skill asks for last full year figures with the date they were read.
Two further categories are easy to miss and matter here. Small businesses can complain "only about an act or omission by the financial business which occurred on or after 1 April 2019". And the service can help "individuals who act as personal guarantors for loans to businesses they're involved in", the direct link back to step 5: the person who signed the guarantee has a route even where the company might not.
Where the skill departs: the page carries worked examples on balance sheet totals, group connections and temporarily exceeding a threshold. The skill records the figures and the conclusion and sends any borderline case to the adviser, because a wrong self-assessment wastes the six month window in step 7.
4. Financial Ombudsman Service, "Time limits"
https://www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/consumers/expect/time-limits, no publication date shown on the page, read 16 September 2026.
Short and decisive. A complaint must be made to the business within "6 years of your problem happening, or 3 years of becoming aware that you had cause to complain, or 3 years of when it would be reasonable to expect you to have realised you had cause to complain". Then the one that catches people: "You have 6 months from the date on the final response you receive from the financial business to bring your complaint to us." The page notes exceptions for serious illness or bereavement, and where the business consents. The skill turns this into dates rather than periods, on the day the letter arrives, because six months is easy to lose inside a dispute still being argued by correspondence.
Where the skill departs: the page is written for consumers and the skill applies its limits to a business complaint, which is correct as far as the limits go, but it does not reproduce the page's guidance on how a complaint is investigated. It also refuses to judge whether an exception applies, since that is the ombudsman's decision and not a calculation.
**What could not be loaded.** The Business Banking Resolution Service position was sought alongside the ombudsman route. thebbrs.org returned an empty response body on two attempts on 16 September 2026, once through a fetching tool and once by direct request, and https://thebbrs.org/about-us/ returned no content. Nothing about the scheme's status is therefore stated anywhere in this skill. It is recorded as unverified, must appear in an `unverified.md` file with the URL attempted and the date, and the owner is told to check it on its own site. Second-hand reports of its status exist and were deliberately not used, because a complaint route is exactly the kind of fact that must not be relayed from a source that could not be opened.
5. HM Treasury, "Government response - Access to finance policy: commercial credit data sharing and bank referrals"
https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/69fdaf582a6137e93226b89d/Government_Response_-_CCDS_BRS_Consultation.pdf, dated May 2026, 33 pages, read 16 September 2026.
Cited to keep step 9 current rather than merely descriptive. The British Business Bank guide describes the Bank Referral Scheme as an opportunity; this document says how well it works and whether it is about to change.
On performance, paragraph 4.2 records that of twenty responses, thirteen "advocated for a fundamental shift away from the current design of the BRS, on the basis that respondents felt the Scheme is not currently delivering adequately (roughly 5% of referred SMEs go on to obtain alternative finance successfully)". That figure is quoted and attributed, because the honest framing of a referral is a free extra option with a low hit rate, not a solution.
On the near future, paragraph 4.4 records that "the Government does not believe it prudent at the current juncture to continue with proposals that would require legislative change", and 5.8 states that "For now, the Government intends to leave the BRS legislative regime stable in order to give industry the best opportunity to develop meaningful proposals in this area." So as at 16 September 2026 the scheme stands, and the skill describes it as standing rather than as under review or ending.
Where the skill departs: the document's larger subject is commercial credit data sharing, which affects an owner only indirectly. The skill also does not name the designated banks or platforms, because that list changes by designation and a stale list is worse than sending an owner to ask their own bank.
Best public prompt we found for this job
The closest public artefact is the `competitive-brief` skill in Anthropic's `knowledge-work-plugins` repository, raw source at https://raw.githubusercontent.com/anthropics/knowledge-work-plugins/main/product-management/skills/competitive-brief/SKILL.md. The repository has 24,123 stars, read from api.github.com on 16 September 2026. We looked for a public prompt about choosing business finance and did not find a good one; what we found is a well-built prompt for comparing options on published evidence, and that is the transferable part. Its scoping step is the useful half:
**Context**: What decision will this inform? (product strategy, sales enablement, investor/board materials, feature prioritization)
Forcing the decision to be named before the comparison is built is the right instinct, and it becomes this skill's insistence that the amount, the purpose and the date it is needed are written down before any offer is opened. Its research step, which goes to product pages and pricing pages rather than to opinion, is the ancestor of the rule that every figure must appear on a document the owner supplied or on a named public source loaded that day.
Three things we did not copy, and the third matters most. It ends in a recommendation; this skill refuses to recommend at all, because recommending a credit product to a business is regulated advice and nobody here is authorised to give it. It gathers evidence from reviews, analyst reports and social media, which for lenders would mean repeating marketing copy and affiliate content as fact, so this skill takes product descriptions only from a public development bank's own guide and the legal position only from the statute. And it produces a comparison table, which is exactly what a borrower wants and exactly what goes wrong here: a table putting an annual percentage rate next to a factor rate looks like a comparison and is not one. The substitute is three computed numbers per offer, in `offer_ref` order, with no sort that implies a winner.
Want this running in your business?
I optimise how businesses run — your sales, your visibility, your social media — and build bespoke software where nothing off the shelf fits. The first conversation is free. Work starts from £150 a day.
Foxera