Get paid for what you built: 10 AI skills for selling up or handing it on
valuation-basis
understand how a buyer values a business like yours
How the two work together
Claude thinks it through. Paste the Claude prompt into Claude Code, or drop the folder into your skills folder. Claude does the judgement: what to look for, what is worth doing, what is right.
Codex gets it done. At the hand-off point Claude runs Codex on your machine with one command and passes it the Codex prompt. Codex does the mechanical part and hands the result back. Claude checks it before you see it.
No API key to set up: Claude calls the Codex you already have installed. If Codex is not installed, Claude does that half itself and tells you.
Prompt for Claude
---
name: valuation-basis
description: Turns your accounts, your own list of proposed add-backs and your related-party facts into the information and method a valuer or buyer's accountant actually works from, never a number: a maintainable-earnings method explainer naming the recognised approaches with no figure attached, an add-back register listing each claimed adjustment against its evidence without ever totalling it, a related-party review referencing the statutory disclosure test, a goodwill position applying the personal-versus-business goodwill test to your facts, and a Business Asset Disposal Relief position recording the current rate, lifetime limit and which conditions you meet. Use when you are one to three years from selling or handing on the business and want to understand how a buyer will actually value it before asking anyone what it is worth.
---
# Understand how a buyer values a business like yours, without a number attached to your own
You give this your accounts, your own list of proposed add-backs each with an amount, a year and the evidence behind it, your related-party facts such as rent paid to a connected landlord or a family member on the payroll, what you know about how any goodwill in the business arose, and the facts that bear on your own Business Asset Disposal Relief position. You get back the method: what "maintainable earnings" means, which add-backs a buyer's accountant will actually recognise, the difference between valuing the assets and valuing the earnings, how goodwill is treated for tax purposes, and the current relief rate and lifetime limit so you understand your own after-tax position on whatever figure a valuer eventually gives you. It will never state an EBITDA multiple, a turnover multiple, a price per cover or any other benchmark for a single independent UK hospitality business, because no reliable public figure exists. Every multiple in circulation comes from a broker paid a percentage of the sale, a direct conflict of interest, and an owner who anchors on a borrowed number either turns down the one fair offer they get or hands away margin they never needed to.
## What it does
1. **Separate the two things a valuer actually does, and refuse to do the second one.** A valuer starts from your maintainable earnings or your net assets, applies a judgement about risk, growth and the market for businesses like yours, and reaches a figure. This skill does the first half only: it assembles the facts a valuer needs and explains the method by name. It will not perform the judgement step, because that is exactly what a buyer, a broker or your own accountant is paid to bring, and a number produced without it is a guess wearing a valuation's clothes.
2. **Name the two recognised approaches, and record which facts point at which one, without choosing.** HMRC's Shares and Assets Valuation team, known as SAV, exists to "work out the value of shares and assets in unquoted companies for Inheritance Tax and Capital Gains Tax purposes", covering shares in companies "which do not have a listing on a recognised Stock Exchange" and trade-related property such as a pub or restaurant premises. HMRC's own internal manual also refers to a business interest being "valued by reference to the net underlying assets", the asset-based approach in a sentence: what the business owns, less what it owes. The alternative is the earnings-based approach, valuing the level of profit a buyer could reasonably expect to continue, which the rest of this skill calls maintainable earnings. Record whether the business trades mainly from freehold property with modest earnings relative to that asset, pointing toward the assets basis, or whether earnings are strong relative to the assets, pointing toward the earnings basis. Do not resolve the question; leave the choice to the valuer.
3. **Start maintainable earnings from the filed or signed profit figure, and change nothing on the page it came from.** The starting point is the profit already in your accounts, for the years you can evidence. Do not restate it, round it or blend it with a different year's figure. The add-back register in the next three steps sits beside this number and is never merged into it inside this skill, because a buyer's accountant who cannot walk an adjusted figure back to a filed one stops trusting the rest of the pack.
4. **Build the owner's salary add-back, and size it against what it would cost to replace you, not against what you draw.** A buyer's accountant recognises this add-back because your reported profit already includes a cost, your own labour, that a buyer will replace with somebody else's. HMRC's own guidance on goodwill draws the boundary this skill uses: "Any goodwill attributable to the personal skills of the proprietor, for example the personal skills of a chef or a hairdresser, will not be transferred to the new proprietor." Where you are a material part of why customers come back, the genuine add-back is your salary as reported, replaced conceptually by what a market-rate manager would cost, not simply removed. Record both figures, your actual drawings and the market-rate estimate, with a note on who supplied it and how. This is the add-back checked hardest, because it is the one owners most often inflate.
5. **Build the one-off cost add-back, and keep the test narrow.** A genuine one-off add-back is a cost that will not recur under new ownership and was not part of the ordinary running of the business in the year it fell: a legal dispute, an uninsured flood repair, a one-off rebrand, a redundancy payment on a role that will not be replaced. For each item, record the amount, the year, the document proving it happened, and one line on why it will not recur. A cost that happens most years, even if it varies in size, such as equipment replacement, is not a one-off, and listing it as one is the fastest way to lose credibility with an accountant who has seen the trick before.
6. **Build the related-party add-back, and test it against the statutory disclosure rule rather than your own opinion of what is fair.** Accounts prepared under the small companies regime must give "particulars" of related-party transactions "if such transactions are material and have not been concluded under normal market conditions." That is also the test a buyer's accountant applies to rent paid to a connected landlord, a director's loan, or wages paid to a family member: not whether it is disclosed, but whether it sits at the rate an unconnected party would have agreed. Record the counterparty, the relationship, the amount, and whether a market comparison exists showing the rate is or is not at arm's length. An item recorded as "no comparison supplied" is priced by the buyer's accountant as uncertainty, not taken on trust.
7. **State the goodwill position using the personal-versus-business test, and record which side of it your business sits on.** For Capital Gains Tax purposes, goodwill is "the attractive force which brings in custom", and the same guidance draws the line this skill records: personal goodwill tied to your own skill does not transfer to a buyer, while goodwill attributable to the business's reputation and customer connections, independent of you, does transfer as part of a sale. Record whether any goodwill was purchased when you acquired the business, with the amount, the date and the evidencing document, and separately record your own honest assessment of how much of today's custom would follow you out the door versus stay with the premises, the brand or the staff. This is a factual record, not a valuation, and it feeds back into step 4: the more goodwill is personal to you, the larger the genuine owner's salary add-back becomes.
8. **Read the Valuation Office Agency's published method for pubs, and use it only to see what a real published method looks like.** The VOA publishes a method "to assist... in achieving the accurate assessment of nearly 40,000 licensed properties for the purposes of establishing appropriate rateable values", a two-stage Fair Maintainable Trade calculation with percentages applied to drinks, food, accommodation and other income. It is a genuine, published, government method, worth reading precisely for what it is not: it sets business rates, the property tax equivalent of council tax, not a sale price, and its percentages are calibrated to rental evidence, not sale transactions. If a broker or franchise pack ever points at a rateable value calculation and calls it a sale valuation, this step shows why that borrowing is wrong, and records the distinction in writing.
9. **Record your Business Asset Disposal Relief position against the rate and limit in force today, and flag that both must be re-checked on the day you actually sell.** The relief currently charges "18% on all gains on qualifying assets disposed of from 6 April 2026", the rate for a disposal made today, 23 September 2026, inside the 2026 to 2027 tax year; it was 14% between 6 April 2025 and 5 April 2026, and 10% before that. The lifetime limit is £1 million for disposals on or after 11 March 2020, applied per individual, so a spouse with a genuine ownership stake carries their own separate limit. For a sole trader or partner the condition is ownership of at least two years; for shares, the company must be your personal company, at least 5% of both shares and voting rights, held for two years, with you as an officer or employee throughout. Record which conditions you meet, which you do not, and which carry a two-year clock that cannot be fixed the month before completion. This is not a tax calculation, it is the fact pattern your accountant needs to run one, because Capital Gains Tax is charged on "the gain you make", not on the sale price itself.
10. **Hand the assembled facts to Codex to build the files, and read the gap count before anything else.** Claude passes over the filed profit figures with their years, every add-back the owner has proposed with its category, amount, year and evidence status, the related-party facts, the goodwill facts and the BADR facts, exactly as supplied and with no view on whether any of it is genuine. Run:
```
codex exec --sandbox danger-full-access --skip-git-repo-check -C "<working folder>" - < CODEX.md
```
Back come the add-back register, the maintainable-earnings method file, the goodwill position, the BADR position, the related-party review and `gaps.md`. Codex records and counts. It never decides whether an add-back is genuine, never totals the register, and never estimates a value. A gap count of zero against a real set of proposed add-backs is a reason to look again, not relax, because it usually means evidence was assumed rather than checked.
## Then it checks
1. No file produced by this skill states a multiple, a price per cover, a total value or any other single figure that purports to be what the business is worth.
2. The add-back register lists every proposed add-back against its category and evidence status, and no file sums those rows into a single adjusted profit or adjusted EBITDA figure.
3. Every add-back sits in one of the three recognised categories, owner's salary normalisation, one-off non-recurring cost, or related-party transaction not confirmed at arm's length, or is marked as outside those categories rather than silently accepted.
4. The goodwill file states the personal-versus-business goodwill test and records which side of it the business's custom falls on, with no figure attached to the goodwill itself.
5. The BADR file states the 18% rate for disposals from 6 April 2026, the £1 million lifetime limit from 11 March 2020, and a note that both must be re-checked on the day of any real disposal.
6. Any reference to the VOA's pub valuation method is labelled explicitly as a business rates method, never as a sale-price method, wherever it appears.
Any check fails: name it, redo that step once. Failed twice: say what is wrong and stop.
## Rules
- Public information only.
- Never invent a fact, a number or a quote.
- Anything sent in someone's name says whose name it is.
- Never state, calculate or imply an EBITDA multiple, a turnover multiple, a price per cover, a rule-of-thumb valuation or any other benchmark for a single independent UK hospitality business, anywhere, under any circumstance. No reliable published figure exists on gov.uk, from the Valuation Office Agency or from the Office for National Statistics. Every multiple that circulates in the trade comes from a broker paid a percentage of the sale, a direct conflict of interest, or from a firm selling a valuation product. An owner who prices against a borrowed multiple either turns down the one fair offer they actually get, because it falls under a number that never applied to their business, or gives away margin they never needed to.
- Never total the add-back register into a single adjusted profit or adjusted EBITDA figure. That calculation, and the judgement about which adjustments a buyer will accept, belongs to the buyer's own accountant.
- Never decide whether a claimed add-back is genuine. The owner and their accountant make that judgement and supply it; this skill records the evidence behind it.
- Never state which valuation approach, assets or earnings, applies to a business. The facts that bear on the choice are recorded; the choice itself is the valuer's.
- Never present the Valuation Office Agency's rating method, or any other published statutory method, as though it produces a sale price. It does not, and was never designed to.
- This output is a working document prepared for the owner's own accountant or valuer to check. It is never legal advice, never tax advice, and it never produces a valuation or a figure that purports to be one.
## Built from
- HM Revenue and Customs and GOV.UK, "Business Asset Disposal Relief", https://www.gov.uk/business-asset-disposal-relief, no date shown on the page, read 23 September 2026: the 18% rate from 6 April 2026 and the sole trader, partner and personal company conditions, step 9.
- HM Revenue and Customs, "HS275 Business Asset Disposal Relief (2026)", https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/entrepreneurs-relief-hs275-self-assessment-helpsheet/hs275-business-asset-disposal-relief-2026, updated 6 April 2026, read 23 September 2026: the £1 million lifetime limit from 11 March 2020, per individual, step 9.
- HM Revenue and Customs internal manual, Capital Gains Manual, CG68010 "Goodwill: outline", https://www.gov.uk/hmrc-internal-manuals/capital-gains-manual/cg68010, published 12 March 2016, updated 23 September 2026, read 23 September 2026: the definition of goodwill and the personal-versus-business goodwill test, steps 4 and 7.
- HM Revenue and Customs internal manual, Shares and Assets Valuation Manual, SVM101010 "What does SAV do?", https://www.gov.uk/hmrc-internal-manuals/shares-and-assets-valuation-manual/svm101010, published 13 March 2016, updated 7 April 2026, read 23 September 2026: SAV's role valuing unquoted shares and trade-related property, step 2.
- HM Revenue and Customs internal manual, Inheritance Tax Manual, IHTM25094, https://www.gov.uk/hmrc-internal-manuals/inheritance-tax-manual/ihtm25094, updated 7 April 2026, read 23 September 2026: a business interest "valued by reference to the net underlying assets", naming the asset-based approach in step 2.
- Valuation Office Agency and GOV.UK, "Capital Gains and other taxes manual: Section 5", https://www.gov.uk/guidance/capital-gains-and-other-taxes-manual/section-5, updated 1 July 2026, read 23 September 2026: property valuation as VOA expertise versus business valuation as SAV expertise, step 2 and the caution in step 8.
- Valuation Office Agency, "Valuation of Public Houses 2026", https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/valuation-of-public-houses-2026/valuation-of-public-houses-2026, published 11 May 2026, read 23 September 2026: the Fair Maintainable Trade rating method for licensed premises, the worked example in step 8 of a real published method that is not a sale-price benchmark.
- The Small Companies and Groups (Accounts and Directors' Report) Regulations 2008, SI 2008/409, Schedule 1, paragraph 66, https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2008/409/schedule/1/paragraph/66, amendments to 31 December 2020, read 23 September 2026: the disclosure test for related party transactions not on normal market conditions, step 6.
- HM Revenue and Customs and GOV.UK, "Capital Gains Tax for business assets", https://www.gov.uk/capital-gains-tax-businesses, no date shown on the page, read 23 September 2026: qualifying business assets and reliefs on a business disposal, step 9.
- HM Revenue and Customs and GOV.UK, "Capital Gains Tax", https://www.gov.uk/capital-gains-tax, no date shown on the page, read 23 September 2026: "it's the gain you make that's taxed, not the amount of money you receive", separating the valuation figure from the tax base in step 9.
Prompt for Codex
# valuation-basis ## You are given The owner's filed or signed accounts for each year they can evidence, stated as a profit figure with the year and the accounts type (filed accounts, signed accounts or management accounts). The owner's own list of proposed add-backs, each with a description in the owner's own words, a category, an amount, a year and a statement of whether an evidence document exists and, where it does, its file name and date. The owner's statement of every related-party transaction that touches the business, such as rent paid to a connected landlord, a loan from a director, or wages paid to a family member, each with the counterparty, the relationship, the amount, the year and whether the owner or their accountant holds a market-rate comparison showing the arrangement is or is not at arm's length. The owner's facts on how any goodwill in the business arose, including whether it was purchased, the amount, the date and the evidencing document, and the owner's own assessment of how much of the business's custom is tied to them personally versus the premises, brand or staff. The owner's facts bearing on their own Business Asset Disposal Relief position: whether they are a sole trader, a partner or a shareholder, how long they have held that position, and, for shares, the percentage of shares and voting rights held and whether they are an officer or employee of the company. Every judgement call, including whether a proposed add-back is genuine, whether a related-party rate is at arm's length, whether goodwill is personal or transferable, and which valuation approach might apply, has already been made by the owner or their accountant, or is explicitly marked as undecided, and is supplied to you exactly as given. You decide none of it. ## Produce Write into a `./valuation-basis-output/` folder: 1. `add-back-register.csv` with these columns in this order: `add_back_ref`, `description_verbatim`, `category`, `amount_gbp`, `year`, `evidence_document_supplied`, `evidence_file_name`, `evidence_date`, `recognised_category`. `add_back_ref` is A001 upward. `category` is exactly one of `owner_salary_normalisation`, `one_off_non_recurring_cost`, `related_party_transaction`, `other_supplied_by_owner`. `evidence_document_supplied` is `yes` or `no`. `recognised_category` is `yes` where `category` is one of the first three and `no` where it is `other_supplied_by_owner`. Never add a total row, a sum column or any adjusted profit figure to this file, in this or any other file. Every row where `evidence_document_supplied` is `no` is also listed in `gaps.md`. 2. `maintainable-earnings-method.md` recording, on separate lines and nothing else: the filed or signed profit figure for each supplied year with its source label, copied verbatim and never adjusted; a statement naming the two recognised valuation approaches as `asset-based (net assets)` and `earnings-based (maintainable earnings or discounted cash flow)`, with no figure attached to either name; the facts the owner supplied that bear on which approach might apply, listed as facts only; and a line stating that the choice between approaches is not made in this file. No number representing an adjusted or maintainable earnings figure appears anywhere in this file. 3. `goodwill-position.md` recording: whether goodwill was purchased, not purchased, or unknown, exactly as supplied; where purchased, the amount, the date and the evidencing document exactly as supplied; the owner's own verbatim assessment of how much custom is personal to them versus tied to the business; and a line applying the personal-versus-business goodwill distinction to those facts as a description, never as a value. 4. `badr-position.md` recording, on separate lines: the rate, stated as `18 percent for disposals from 6 April 2026`, and a line stating it must be re-checked against the current rate on the day of any real disposal; the lifetime limit, stated as `GBP 1,000,000 for disposals on or after 11 March 2020, applied per individual`; then, for the owner's supplied facts, whether each of these conditions is `met`, `not met` or `unknown`: sole trader or partner status, two years of ownership, for shares whether the company is the owner's personal company with at least 5% of shares and voting rights, and two years as an officer or employee. Every `unknown` condition is also listed in `gaps.md`. 5. `related-party-review.csv` with these columns in this order: `item_ref`, `counterparty_name_verbatim`, `relationship`, `transaction_type`, `amount_gbp`, `year`, `market_rate_comparison_supplied`, `evidence_file_name`, `disclosure_required_sch1_para66`. `item_ref` is R001 upward. `market_rate_comparison_supplied` is `yes` or `no`. `disclosure_required_sch1_para66` is `yes` where the owner has stated the transaction is material and not concluded on normal market terms, `no` where the owner has stated it is on normal market terms, and `not stated` otherwise. Every row where `market_rate_comparison_supplied` is `no` or `disclosure_required_sch1_para66` is `not stated` is also listed in `gaps.md`. 6. `gaps.md` a numbered list of: every add-back with no evidence document; every related-party item with no market-rate comparison or an unstated disclosure position; every BADR condition recorded as `unknown`; the goodwill position where it is recorded as `unknown`; and any figure supplied by the owner without a year attached to it. ## Rules - Codex records, sorts and counts. It never decides whether a claimed add-back is genuine, never computes an adjusted profit, adjusted EBITDA or any single earnings figure, never estimates a value for the business or for goodwill, and never chooses between the asset-based and earnings-based approaches. Those judgements were supplied, or were not, and either way they are not yours to make. - Never total the add-back register. A part-evidenced register is reported as incomplete, never rounded up into a single figure. - Never write a benchmark. No EBITDA multiple, turnover multiple, price per cover or industry rule of thumb is to be written into any file, because none exists for a single independent UK hospitality business. - Never carry a figure forward from a prior year's file or a prior valuation exercise into this one. Only the owner's current supplied facts are used. - Never mark a related-party transaction as being at arm's length, or an add-back as recognised, on the strength of the description alone. Only a supplied market-rate comparison or the owner's own explicit statement supports either conclusion; everything else is recorded as `no` or `not stated`. - Use British English, GBP written as `GBP` or the pound sign, and DD Month YYYY dates. No em dashes in any file you write, and any supplied text containing one is recorded verbatim and flagged in `gaps.md`. - Every quoted description, counterparty name and owner statement is copied exactly, including its punctuation and capitalisation. - Every file ends with this line: this is a working document prepared for the owner's own accountant or valuer to check. It is not legal advice, it is not tax advice, and it is not a valuation. ## Return The absolute path of every file written, the row count of each CSV, the count of add-backs by `evidence_document_supplied` status and by `category`, the count of related-party items by `market_rate_comparison_supplied` and `disclosure_required_sch1_para66` status, the BADR rate and lifetime limit exactly as recorded in `badr-position.md` together with the count of conditions marked `met`, `not met` and `unknown`, the goodwill position recorded in `goodwill-position.md` stated in full, and the `gaps.md` item count.
Built from the best public work on this
Sources for valuation-basis
Everything below was opened and read on 23 September 2026. Nothing is cited that could not be loaded. Where a search engine could be reached without a blocking CAPTCHA, gov.uk's own search API was used instead, since it returns plain JSON and can be quoted directly; this is noted against the sources it produced.
1. HM Revenue and Customs and GOV.UK, "Business Asset Disposal Relief"
https://www.gov.uk/business-asset-disposal-relief, no publication or updated date shown on the page, read 23 September 2026.
This is the plain-English front door to the relief, and it states the current rate without qualification: "18% on all gains on qualifying assets disposed of from 6 April 2026." Because today is 23 September 2026, that is the rate for a disposal made now, in the 2026 to 2027 tax year. The page also sets out the conditions in ordinary language: for a sole trader or partner, "you're a sole trader or business partner" and "you've owned the business for at least 2 years", both of which must be true for at least two years up to the date of sale; for shares, "you're an employee or office holder of the company" and "the company's main activities are in trading", again for two years.
This page feeds step 9 of the skill and the `badr-position.md` file Codex produces. It is deliberately the source for the rate and the headline conditions, while the lifetime limit is sourced separately from HS275 below, because the two pages state different parts of the same relief and neither alone is complete.
Where the skill departs: the page also describes how to claim the relief and the deadlines for doing so. The skill does not walk the owner through making a claim, because a claim is only made once a disposal has actually happened and a figure exists to claim relief against, which is exactly the point in the process this skill refuses to reach.
2. HM Revenue and Customs, "HS275 Business Asset Disposal Relief (2026)"
https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/entrepreneurs-relief-hs275-self-assessment-helpsheet/hs275-business-asset-disposal-relief-2026, page states updated 6 April 2026, read 23 September 2026.
This self-assessment helpsheet carries the detail the front page does not. It fixes the lifetime limit and the date it started: "11 March 2020, £1 million" is given as the threshold for the reduced lifetime limit, meaning disposals on or after that date are tested against the £1 million figure rather than an earlier, higher one. It also confirms the qualifying period is "throughout a period of 2 years" and is explicit that the relief is personal: it applies to assets used in a business the individual directly operated or in a partnership where they were a member, and it explicitly excludes "shares and securities" and "any other assets held as investments" from that route, which is why shares are tested separately through the personal company conditions, including that the company must be "your personal company" and "either a 'trading company' or the holding company of a 'trading group'", with the individual "either an officer or employee of that company".
This page feeds step 9 and the £1 million lifetime limit, the per-individual point and the personal company conditions recorded in `badr-position.md`.
Where the skill departs: HS275 is a full self-assessment helpsheet covering associated disposals, trustees and deceased persons' estates. The skill takes only the individual owner-operator case, because that is who this skill is written for, and everything else is left for the owner's accountant to raise if it applies.
3. HM Revenue and Customs internal manual, Capital Gains Manual, CG68010, "Goodwill: outline"
https://www.gov.uk/hmrc-internal-manuals/capital-gains-manual/cg68010, page states published 12 March 2016, updated 23 September 2026, read 23 September 2026.
This is the single most load-bearing source in the skill, because it supplies the test that separates a genuine owner's salary add-back from an invented one. It defines goodwill in plain terms as "the benefit and advantage of the good name, reputation and connection of a business" and "the attractive force which brings in custom", then draws the line this skill leans on twice: "Any goodwill attributable to the personal skills of the proprietor, for example the personal skills of a chef or a hairdresser, will not be transferred to the new proprietor." The page also flags a harder edge case, noting that HMRC's own CG Technical Group should be consulted where someone argues personal goodwill did transfer because the proprietor was retained under an employment contract, which is a reminder that the boundary is not always as clean as the headline sentence suggests.
This page feeds step 4, where it sizes the genuine owner's salary add-back against what a business will cost to replace the owner's personal contribution rather than against the owner's own drawings, and step 7, where the same test is applied directly to the goodwill position.
Where the skill departs: the manual goes on to discuss how goodwill is apportioned between an outgoing and incoming partner, and how it interacts with incorporation relief. The skill does not touch either, because both only become live questions once a specific transaction structure is chosen, which is downstream of what this skill exists to prepare.
4. HM Revenue and Customs internal manual, Shares and Assets Valuation Manual, SVM101010, "What does SAV do?"
https://www.gov.uk/hmrc-internal-manuals/shares-and-assets-valuation-manual/svm101010, page states published 13 March 2016, updated 7 April 2026, read 23 September 2026.
This confirms that a real HMRC function exists for exactly the kind of valuation this skill refuses to perform, which matters because it shows the owner the work is genuinely specialist rather than a figure this skill is simply declining to calculate for convenience. SAV's role is to provide "a valuation service in respect of a range of assets", including "valuing shares in companies which do not have a listing on a recognised Stock Exchange anywhere in the world", and its remit extends to trade-related property, the category that covers a pub, restaurant or hotel premises where the value of the property is bound up with the trade carried on there.
This page feeds step 2, naming the earnings-based and asset-based approaches as the two routes a valuer works from, and it is the source for describing trade-related property as its own recognised category, which sets up the Valuation of Public Houses source below.
Where the skill departs: the wider Shares and Assets Valuation Manual runs to over a hundred numbered sections covering Inheritance Tax, share option schemes and litigation procedure. This skill reads only the single page that states SAV's function, because the rest of the manual describes HMRC's own internal process for agreeing a valuation with a taxpayer, not the method a valuer applies, and no page found within the accessible index sets out that method by name with worked wording.
5. HM Revenue and Customs internal manual, Inheritance Tax Manual, IHTM25094
https://www.gov.uk/hmrc-internal-manuals/inheritance-tax-manual/ihtm25094, page states updated 7 April 2026, read 23 September 2026.
This page is nominally about how an interest in a limited liability partnership is valued differently from an interest in a traditional partnership, and in making that distinction it supplies the phrase this skill uses to name the asset-based approach: a traditional partnership interest is "valued by reference to the net underlying assets". That is the assets basis in HMRC's own words, valuing what the business owns net of what it owes, as distinct from valuing the earnings it produces.
This page feeds step 2, where it is used, alongside SVM101010, to name the asset-based approach without attaching any figure or method of calculation to it.
Where the skill departs: the page's actual subject is a technical point about the legal character of an LLP interest for Inheritance Tax, not a general statement about business valuation method. It is used here narrowly, for the four words that name the approach, and not as authority for anything wider about how that net asset figure would actually be calculated for a trading hospitality business.
6. Valuation Office Agency and GOV.UK, "Capital Gains and other taxes manual: Section 5"
https://www.gov.uk/guidance/capital-gains-and-other-taxes-manual/section-5, page states updated 1 July 2026, read 23 September 2026.
This VOA manual sits alongside the HMRC manuals above and confirms the working division of labour between the two bodies: "SAV and VOA also work closely together on the valuation of Trade Related Property as circumstances (e.g. claims for Goodwill) may require careful consideration of property valuation (VOA expertise) and business valuation (SAV expertise) factors." That single sentence is doing real work in this skill: it shows, in HMRC's and the VOA's own account of their own functions, that valuing the bricks and valuing the trade are treated as two different disciplines even inside government, which is why the skill separates the goodwill and add-back questions from anything about the property itself.
This page feeds step 2 and the caution in step 8, where it supports treating a rating valuation of the premises as a different exercise from valuing the trade.
Where the skill departs: Section 5 otherwise covers the mechanics of how VOA agrees valuations with taxpayers for Capital Gains Tax, which is a process question, not a method question, and is not repeated here.
7. Valuation Office Agency, "Valuation of Public Houses 2026"
https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/valuation-of-public-houses-2026/valuation-of-public-houses-2026, page states published 11 May 2026, read 23 September 2026.
This is the closest thing to a real, published, numeric government method touching hospitality valuation, and it is precisely why the skill uses it as its worked example of what a genuine method looks like, and of what it is not. It exists "to assist professional valuers in achieving the accurate assessment of nearly 40,000 licensed properties for the purposes of establishing appropriate rateable values." Its method has two stages: "The first stage is to determine the Fair Maintainable Trade (FMT) of the property excluding VAT" and "the second stage is for the valuer to decide the rental percentages to be applied to each income stream", split across drinks, food, accommodation and other receipts, with percentages that vary by location, property category and turnover band, built from "actual rents paid in the market for public houses".
This page feeds step 8. It is used exactly once, and only to make one point: a real, government-published, numeric method for licensed premises exists, and its purpose is to set the rateable value that determines business rates, the non-domestic property tax, not to set a sale price. The rental percentages are calibrated to rating evidence, not to sale transaction evidence, and the document nowhere claims to do the second job.
Where the skill departs: this is the deliberate point of departure that runs through the whole skill. Where a broker, a franchise information pack or an online calculator borrows a rating method, a rebuild-cost insurance multiplier, or any other published percentage and presents it as a sale-price guide, this is the source that shows the borrowing is wrong, because the document itself states what it is for and it is not that.
8. The Small Companies and Groups (Accounts and Directors' Report) Regulations 2008, SI 2008/409, Schedule 1, paragraph 66
https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2008/409/schedule/1/paragraph/66, page shows amendments to 31 December 2020, read 23 September 2026.
This is the statutory test the skill uses for the related-party add-back, and it is deliberately not an accounting standard or a piece of professional guidance but a legal disclosure requirement that already applies to small company accounts. The operative wording is direct: "Particulars may be given of transactions which the company has entered into with related parties, and must be given if such transactions are material and have not been concluded under normal market conditions." The regulation also carves out group transactions between wholly-owned subsidiaries, which is not relevant to a single independent hospitality business but is worth knowing exists.
This page feeds step 6 and the `related-party-review.csv` file, where the disclosure test, material and not on normal market conditions, is used as the honest question to ask about rent paid to a connected landlord, a director's loan or wages paid to a family member, rather than the owner's own sense of what feels fair.
Where the skill departs: the regulation is about what must appear in filed accounts, not about how a buyer's accountant re-prices an add-back once the related-party fact is known. The skill borrows the legal test because it is precise and already binding, and leaves the pricing judgement to the buyer's own adviser.
9. HM Revenue and Customs and GOV.UK, "Capital Gains Tax for business assets"
https://www.gov.uk/capital-gains-tax-businesses, no publication or updated date shown on the page, read 23 September 2026.
This page states plainly what triggers a charge: "You may have to pay Capital Gains Tax if you make a profit ('gain') when you sell (or 'dispose of') all or part of a business asset", and lists the categories that count, including land and buildings, fixtures and fittings, plant and machinery, shares, registered trademarks and business reputation, which is the page's own word for goodwill in this context. It also names the reliefs that can apply on a business disposal: Business Asset Disposal Relief, Business Asset Rollover Relief, Gift Hold-Over Relief and Incorporation Relief.
This page feeds step 9, establishing that goodwill and business reputation sit inside the scope of a chargeable business asset alongside the more obvious property and equipment.
Where the skill departs: the page signposts each of the four reliefs it names, but this skill records the facts behind Business Asset Disposal Relief only, because that is the relief that answers the owner's actual question, their own after-tax position on a sale of the business they run, and the other three apply to different transaction shapes the skill does not assume.
10. HM Revenue and Customs and GOV.UK, "Capital Gains Tax"
https://www.gov.uk/capital-gains-tax, no publication or updated date shown on the page, read 23 September 2026.
This is the plainest possible statement of the principle the skill uses to separate a valuation figure from a tax bill: "It's the gain you make that's taxed, not the amount of money you receive." The page's own worked example, buying something for £5,000 and selling it for £25,000 for a gain of £20,000, is the arithmetic behind every sale of a business, whatever figure a valuer eventually reaches.
This page feeds step 9, where it grounds the point that whatever number a buyer or a valuer eventually puts on the business, the tax due is calculated against the gain over what the owner paid or is treated as having paid, not against the headline price, which is one more reason a borrowed multiple is the wrong number to plan a life around.
Where the skill departs: the page is a general introduction to Capital Gains Tax covering property, shares, personal possessions and cryptoassets. The skill reads only the single principle relevant to a business disposal and leaves every other asset class where it is.
The best public prompt found
A general web search for existing prompts or tools that value a small business could not be run through this session's search tool, because the web search allowance had already been used elsewhere in the same session before this skill was built; the check below was done instead by fetching specific pages directly, including gov.uk's own search API and two accountancy body sites, and by checking a public repository of skills for professional and marketing work that had already supplied the model for two sibling skills in this pack.
No purpose-built public prompt or skill that prepares valuation information for a small business without stating a benchmark was found through any route this session could reach. What is easy to find, from general knowledge of the space rather than a specific fetched page, is the opposite pattern: free "business valuation calculator" tools built by brokers and business transfer agents that ask for a turnover or profit figure and return an instant multiple, typically expressed as a range such as two to four times adjusted earnings, applied uniformly regardless of the individual business, its location, its lease terms or its dependence on the owner. That is precisely the practice this skill exists to refuse, and it is also precisely the commercial incentive named in the skill's own rules: the tool is generally offered by the same firm that will later ask to be instructed on the sale, so the free number is a lead-generation device rather than a valuation.
Where a genuine method is publicly available and correctly labelled, as with the Valuation Office Agency's public house rating guidance cited above, it is built for a different legal purpose, business rates, and none of the general "value my business" tools checked make that distinction for the person using them. That gap, a method that exists but is dressed up as something it is not, or a number that exists with no method behind it at all, is the specific space this skill is written to fill: method and facts, supplied honestly, with the number left to a human who is paid to be accountable for it.
Want this running in your business?
I optimise how businesses run — your sales, your visibility, your social media — and build bespoke software where nothing off the shelf fits. The first conversation is free. Work starts from £150 a day.
Foxera