Sign the right lease and pay the right rent: 10 AI skills for your premises

epc-and-mees

the energy rating that can stop you letting or trading

How the two work together

Claude thinks it through. Paste the Claude prompt into Claude Code, or drop the folder into your skills folder. Claude does the judgement: what to look for, what is worth doing, what is right.

Codex gets it done. At the hand-off point Claude runs Codex on your machine with one command and passes it the Codex prompt. Codex does the mechanical part and hands the result back. Claude checks it before you see it.

No API key to set up: Claude calls the Codex you already have installed. If Codex is not installed, Claude does that half itself and tells you.

Prompt for Claude

---
name: epc-and-mees
description: Turns the Energy Performance Certificate on your leased premises into a lawful-to-let check, the minimum band E standard applied against its two real prohibition dates, each exemption matched to what is actually registered, the PRS Exemptions Register position, who pays for the improvement under your own lease, and the confirmed direction of travel for larger buildings. Use before you sign, renew or extend a lease on a cafe, restaurant, bar or small hotel in England or Wales, or the day you learn your landlord's EPC is below band E.
---

# A sub-standard EPC caught before it becomes your closed door

You give this the EPC with its band and dates, the lease's repair, alterations and service charge clauses, any claimed exemption and its evidence, and the tenancy dates in question. You get back the standard applied against the real prohibition date, each exemption matched to what is registered, and who pays under your own lease. It will not rate the building or decide an exemption's validity. That is an energy assessor's and the landlord's job.

## What it does

1. **Confirm a valid EPC exists before reading its band.** An EPC lasts 10 years from issue. Record the band, issue date and expiry. No valid EPC is its own failure, fined £500 to £5,000 by rateable value.
2. **State the standard, the date it bites, and the penalty for breach.** The 2015 Regulations set the minimum at band E. A sub-standard non-domestic letting on a new, extended or renewed tenancy has been barred since 1 April 2018, and any such letting at all since 1 April 2023, unless exempt. A breach under three months risks the greater of £5,000 or 10% of rateable value, capped £50,000; three months or more, the greater of £10,000 or 20%, capped £150,000.
3. **Match the claimed exemption to its real name and check the register.** 7 year payback, all improvements made, consent, devaluation and the six-month new-landlord exemption are the only ones, each running 5 years bar the last. Consent, devaluation and temporary exemptions must also be registered on the PRS Exemptions Register before being relied on. Record what is claimed, what is registered, and the expiry of each.
4. **Find who pays, from the lease, not the Regulations.** The duty sits on the landlord; funding depends on the lease. The pack's service-charge-check skill records the RICS standard excluding improvement costs above repair from a service charge, so MEES works billed that way break it. Record what the lease says.
5. **Note the direction of travel as a proposal, not law.** Band B by 2031 is proposed for buildings over 1,000 square metres, pending secondary legislation. Smaller units, almost every independent hospitality premises, stay at band E with no new deadline.
6. **Hand the mechanical work to Codex.** Run:

   ```
   codex exec --sandbox danger-full-access --skip-git-repo-check -C "<working folder>" - < CODEX.md
   ```

   Claude hands over the EPC facts, the exemption claimed and its evidence, the register position, the lease liability clauses and any rateable value supplied. Codex returns the status, exemptions, liability and penalty files, deciding and estimating nothing.

## Then it checks

1. EPC band, issue and expiry dates are recorded, with a plain statement on validity.
2. The prohibition date applied is the one that actually governs this letting.
3. Any exemption matches a real name and duration; the register position reads registered, not registered or not stated, never assumed.
4. Liability is quoted from the lease itself, the cross-reference used only where supplied.
5. No file states the 2031 proposal, or an unsupplied rateable value, as settled.

Any check fails: name it, redo that step once. Failed twice: say what is wrong and stop.

## Rules
- Public information only. Never invent a fact, a number or a quote. Anything sent in someone's name says whose name it is.
- England and Wales only.
- Never rate a building, recommend an improvement or decide an exemption's validity. Never state the 2031 band B proposal as current law.
- Never assume a service charge can recover MEES works without checking the lease and service-charge-check's exclusions.
- A working document for the owner's own solicitor and the landlord's managing agent to check. Not legal advice, not an energy assessment, not a finding that any exemption is valid.

## Built from
- The Energy Efficiency (Private Rented Property) (England and Wales) Regulations 2015, SI 2015/962, regulations 22 and 27, https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/962/regulation/27/made, read 14 October 2026: band E and the two prohibition dates, step 2.
- The same Regulations, regulations 31 to 33 and 36, https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/962/regulation/36/made, read 14 October 2026: exemptions and the PRS Exemptions Register duty, step 3.
- The same Regulations, regulation 41, https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/962/regulation/41/made, read 14 October 2026: financial penalties, step 2.
- GOV.UK, "Non-domestic private rented property: minimum energy efficiency standard - landlord guidance", https://www.gov.uk/guidance/non-domestic-private-rented-property-minimum-energy-efficiency-standard-landlord-guidance, updated 5 May 2026, read 14 October 2026: exemption types, the 7 year payback test and durations, step 3.
- GOV.UK, "Private Rented Sector minimum energy efficiency standard exemptions", https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/private-rented-sector-minimum-energy-efficiency-standard-exemptions, updated 5 May 2026, read 14 October 2026: the PRS Exemptions Register, step 3.
- GOV.UK, "Energy Performance Certificates for your business premises", https://www.gov.uk/energy-performance-certificate-commercial-property, read 14 October 2026: the 10 year EPC validity and the £500 to £5,000 penalty, step 1.
- GOV.UK, consultation outcome, "Minimum Energy efficiency standards (MEES) in the non-domestic private rented sector: interim response", updated 18 June 2026, read 14 October 2026: proposed band B by 2031 for buildings over 1,000 square metres, step 5.
- This pack's own service-charge-check skill, built from RICS, "Service charges in commercial property", 2nd edition, June 2025, core principle 3.8, cross-referenced rather than repeated, step 4.

Prompt for Codex

# epc-and-mees

## You are given
The EPC band, issue date and expiry for one leased UK hospitality premises in England or Wales, or a statement that none was supplied. The tenancy type (new, extended, renewed, continuing) and effective date. Any exemption claimed, with its evidence document, or none claimed. The PRS Exemptions Register position as checked by the owner. The lease's repair, alterations and service charge clauses verbatim, and any service-charge-check exclusions finding already produced. Any rateable value held, with its date and source. All judgement on validity and next steps belongs to the owner and their solicitor.

## Produce
Write into `./epc-and-mees-output/`:

1. `epc-status.csv`: `property_address`, `epc_band`, `epc_issue_date`, `epc_expiry_date`, `valid_today`, `source_document`. `valid_today` is calculated only from the supplied issue date against the 10 year term, left empty if the date is missing.
2. `mees-compliance.md`, separate lines only: the band E standard; sub-standard as `yes`, `no` or `cannot be determined`; the applicable date as `1 April 2018 (new, extended or renewed tenancy)`, `1 April 2023 (any letting)` or `not yet applicable`; current lawfulness.
3. `exemptions-register.csv`: `exemption_claimed`, `exemption_recognised`, `evidence_supplied`, `registered_on_prs_register`, `date_registered`, `expiry_date`. `exemption_recognised` is `yes` only for an exact match to 7 year payback, all improvements made, consent, devaluation or temporary (new landlord); else `no`, flagged in `gaps.md`. `registered_on_prs_register` is `yes`, `no` or `not stated`.
4. `liability-position.md`: the lease's repair, alterations and service charge clauses verbatim, then one line on whether a service-charge-check exclusions finding was supplied and its conclusion.
5. `penalty-exposure.md`, only where sub-standard is `yes`: breach duration category, rateable value if supplied, and the penalty from the greater-of formula and cap for that category. No rateable value: the line reads `cannot be calculated without rateable value`.
6. `gaps.md`: no EPC; no issue date; unrecognised exemption name; no register position where claimed; no liability clause; no rateable value where a breach is recorded.

## Rules
- Transcribe, match names and calculate only from supplied facts. Never decide sub-standard without a supplied band, never decide an exemption valid, never estimate a rateable value or a benchmark figure.
- Never calculate a penalty without a supplied rateable value, and never mark an exemption registered because it was merely claimed.
- British English, GBP as `GBP` or £, DD Month YYYY dates, no em dashes; supplied text with one is recorded verbatim and flagged in `gaps.md`.
- Every file ends with: a working document for the owner's own solicitor and the landlord's managing agent to check. Not legal advice, not an energy assessment, not a finding that any exemption is valid.

## Return
Every file's path, the EPC band and validity, the sub-standard conclusion and applicable date, the exemption claimed and whether recognised, the register position, the penalty range or the cannot-be-calculated line, the liability conclusion in one line, and the `gaps.md` count.

Built from the best public work on this

Sources for epc-and-mees

Everything below was opened and read on 14 October 2026. Nothing is cited that could not be loaded.

1. The Energy Efficiency (Private Rented Property) (England and Wales) Regulations 2015, SI 2015/962

Regulation 22, https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/962/regulation/22/made, and regulation 27, https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/962/regulation/27/made, read 14 October 2026.

Regulation 22 fixes the "minimum level of energy efficiency" at "an energy performance indicator of band E" and defines a property as sub-standard where its valid EPC falls below that. Regulation 27 then prohibits letting: a landlord must not, "on or after 1st April 2018, grant a new tenancy" of a sub-standard non-domestic property, including by extension or renewal, and must not, "on or after 1st April 2023, continue to let the property" on such a tenancy, unless an exemption applies. The two dates are the spine of step 2, and they are easy to collapse into one date if read quickly, which is exactly the error this skill exists to catch.

Where the skill departs: the Regulations also run a parallel scheme for domestic PR property with its own dates and exemptions. This skill takes only the non-domestic provisions, because a leased cafe, restaurant or bar is not domestic property.

2. The same Regulations, regulations 31 to 33 and 36

https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/962/regulation/36/made, read 14 October 2026.

Regulations 31 to 33 create the consent, devaluation and temporary exemptions. Regulation 36 requires that "the Secretary of State must establish and maintain a system (the 'PRS Exemptions Register')" and that a landlord relying on the listed exemptions "must register the information set out in the Schedule" before relying on them. Step 4 treats an exemption that exists in the lease conversation but not on this register as not yet an exemption at all.

Where the skill departs: the Schedule's full evidential content, which varies by exemption, is left to the owner's own adviser rather than reproduced here.

3. The same Regulations, regulation 41

https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/962/regulation/41/made, read 14 October 2026.

This sets the non-domestic penalty bands used in step 2: under three months, "a financial penalty not exceeding whichever is the greater of" £5,000 or 10% of rateable value, capped at £50,000; three months or more, the greater of £10,000 or 20%, capped at £150,000; and up to £5,000 for false registration information. These figures sit on the landlord, which is why step 4 asks who actually funds the work under the lease rather than assuming the penalty is the tenant's problem.

4. GOV.UK, "Non-domestic private rented property: minimum energy efficiency standard - landlord guidance"

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/non-domestic-private-rented-property-minimum-energy-efficiency-standard-landlord-guidance, updated 5 May 2026, read 14 October 2026.

This names the exemptions step 3 checks against: 7 year payback, all improvements made, wall insulation, consent, devaluation and the temporary new-landlord exemption, which "lasts 6 months from the date you became the landlord" while the others run 5 years. The 7 year payback test itself is a straight comparison: the exemption applies where the cost of the improvement "does not meet a simple 7 year payback test" against the energy savings.

Where the skill departs: the guidance also covers the domestic scheme and the detail of each exemption's evidence pack, which this skill leaves to the owner's adviser rather than reproducing.

5. GOV.UK, "Private Rented Sector minimum energy efficiency standard exemptions"

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/private-rented-sector-minimum-energy-efficiency-standard-exemptions, updated 5 May 2026, read 14 October 2026.

This is the current entry point to the PRS Exemptions Register service, confirmed updated on 5 May 2026 "to reflect the new service." It is cited for the register's existence rather than its full evidential content, which the page itself leaves to a separate linked guidance document the skill does not reproduce.

6. GOV.UK, "Energy Performance Certificates for your business premises"

https://www.gov.uk/energy-performance-certificate-commercial-property, read 14 October 2026.

This is step 1's source: "All EPCs are valid for 10 years," and failing to provide one to a prospective buyer or tenant brings a fine "between £500 and £5,000 based on the rateable value of the building." A sub-standard EPC and a missing EPC are two different failures, and the page keeps them separate.

Where the skill departs: the page's list of buildings exempt from needing an EPC at all (listed buildings, places of worship, small detached buildings) is a different question from a MEES exemption, and the two are not merged here.

7. GOV.UK, consultation outcome, "Minimum Energy efficiency standards (MEES) in the non-domestic private rented sector: interim response"

Updated 18 June 2026, read 14 October 2026.

This is a proposal, not a rule, and the page is explicit about both halves of that: "from 2031, it is proposed that all private rented buildings over 1,000 square metres" reach band B "where cost effective," while "buildings below 1,000 square metres" stay at band E "with no set deadline," and the whole change "will only take effect following the successful passage of secondary legislation through Parliament." Step 5 reports it as exactly that: a proposal that does not yet bind anyone, and one that does not reach most independent hospitality premises in any case because of the size threshold.

8. This pack's own service-charge-check skill

Cross-referenced rather than repeated in step 4, for the RICS core principle 3.8 exclusion of "any improvement costs above the costs of normal maintenance, repair or replacement" from a recoverable service charge.

The best public prompt found

A search of both api.github.com/repos/anthropics/knowledge-work-plugins (29,622 stars, pushed 14 October 2026) and api.github.com/repos/anthropics/skills (181,063 stars, pushed 9 October 2026) found no skill addressing EPCs, MEES, energy efficiency or any UK property compliance standard in either repository. The closest structural relative is knowledge-work-plugins' own `legal/skills/review-contract`, which reads a contract clause by clause against a playbook and flags each deviation GREEN, YELLOW or RED with a drafted fallback position. It shares this skill's instinct to go clause by clause rather than summarise, but it is a generic negotiation tool with no concept of a statutory minimum standard, a public exemptions register or a prohibition date, and it would cheerfully produce a view on whether a landlord's EPC is "acceptable" risk, which is precisely the judgement this skill refuses to make. No public skill in either repository attempts this task, because a UK statutory minimum standard with hard penalty bands is a narrower and higher-stakes job than a generic contract review prompt is built for.

Want this running in your business?

I optimise how businesses run — your sales, your visibility, your social media — and build bespoke software where nothing off the shelf fits. The first conversation is free. Work starts from £150 a day.